previous | contents | next

GROS Life Expectancy for Administrative Areas within Scotland, 2006-2008

5. Notes and Definitions

5.1 Following the dissolution of Argyll & Clyde NHS Board on 31st March 2006, its area has been split between Greater Glasgow and Highland NHS Boards and the former has been renamed Greater Glasgow & Clyde.

5.2 The composition of the NHS Board areas in terms of Council areas is summarised in the table below.

NHS Board area

Council area

Ayrshire & Arran

East Ayrshire, North Ayrshire, South Ayrshire


Scottish Borders

Dumfries & Galloway

Dumfries & Galloway


Fife (part)

Forth Valley

Clackmannanshire, Falkirk (part), Stirling (part), Perth & Kinross (part)


Aberdeen City, Aberdeenshire, Moray

Greater Glasgow & Clyde 1

East Dunbartonshire, East Renfrewshire, Glasgow City, Inverclyde, North Lanarkshire (part), Renfrewshire, South Lanarkshire (part), Stirling (part), West Dunbartonshire

Highland 1

Argyll & Bute, Highland


North Lanarkshire (part), South Lanarkshire (part), West Lothian (part), Falkirk (part)


East Lothian, City of Edinburgh, Midlothian, West Lothian (part), Falkirk (part)


Orkney Islands


Shetland Islands


Angus, Dundee City, Perth & Kinross (part), Fife (part)

Western Isles

Eilean Siar

1 New Board areas including parts of former Argyll & Clyde NHS Board.

previous | contents | next