National Records of Scotland

Preserving the past, Recording the present, Informing the future

1991 Index of Populated Areas in Scotland

1991 Index of Populated Areas in Scotland

November 1999

Last updated: 6 March 2014

Correction 26 August 2016

Seven localities in Scottish Borders – Ayton, Coldingham, Coldstream, Denholm, Duns, Earlston and Eyemouth – were incorrectly listed as localities in Comhairle nan Eilean Siar. The index has now been updated to correct this. We apologise for any problems or inconvenience caused by our error.


The 1991 Census: Index of Populated Areas in Scotland is a publication. This page contains the 1991 Census: Extract of 'Index of Populated Areas in Scotland' that you may download free of charge. This extract lists localities (villages, towns & cities with a population of more than 500) within Scotland, the Council Areas in which they are located, and their Resident Population counts.

If you wish to purchase a copy of the complete Index please contact Statistics Customer Services ([email protected]).

General notes on the Index

The administrative areas contained in the Index are those that were in existence at the time of 1991 Census.

Each area in the Area Names section of the Index is shown with its parent new council area code.

It is not possible to produce reliable population statistics for areas which do not have recognised boundaries. For this reason the main population statistics produced from census data are invariably related to well defined historical or administrative areas, such as civil parishes or local government districts.

Explanatory notes on the extract

Place names are listed in alphabetical order.The areas in the extract are localities (villages, towns & cities with a population of more than 500)

Place names

1991 Population

The population figures shown are derived from the 1991 Census taken on the night of 21 April of that year. All areas in the Index are aggregations of 1991 Census Output Areas.

Council Area

The local government reorganisation of Scotland in 1996 created 32 Council Areas, these replaced the 9 Regions and 56 Districts. This is an extract from the file that you may download showing its layout:

Locality Council Area Residents
Aberchirder Aberdeenshire 1,097
Aberdeen Aberdeen City 189,707
Aberdour Fife 524
Aberfeldy Perth & Kinross 1,748
Aberfoyle Stirling 719
Aberlady East Lothian 847
Aberlour Moray 821
Abernethy Perth & Kinross 895
Aboyne Aberdeenshire 2,067
Addiebrownhill West Lothian 1,338
Aird An Rubha (Aird) Western Isles 541
Airdrie North Lanarkshire 36,998
Airth Falkirk 940
Alford Aberdeenshire 1,394
Allanton North Lanarkshire 1,186
Alloa Clackmannanshire 18,842
Almondbank Perth & Kinross 1,198
Alness Highland 5,696
Alva Clackmannanshire 5,201
Alyth Perth & Kinross 2,383

The table below has been made available as Excel and can be viewed in Comma Separated Value (CSV) or Adobe Acrobat Portable Document Format (PDF).

When opening the spreadsheet files your browser, depending on how it's been configured, will prompt to either open the file or save it to disk. Maximum file size is 108 KB.

PDF files require Acrobat Reader. Download Acrobat Reader free Get Acrobat Reader


1991 Census: Extract of 'Index of Populated Areas in Scotland'
(Excel    CSV    PDF)