National Records of Scotland

Preserving the past, Recording the present, Informing the future

Notes and Definitions

Notes and Definitions

5.1 Following the dissolution of NHS Argyll & Clyde on 31st March 2006, it’s area has been split between Greater Glasgow and Highland NHS Boards and the former has been renamed Greater Glasgow and Clyde. The calculation to produce figures for the new National Health Service (NHS) Board areas in this report are as follows:

  • NHS Highland = old NHS Highland plus Argyll & Bute Council area;
  • NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde = old NHS Greater Glasgow plus (old NHS Argyll & Clyde minus Argyll & Bute Council area).

5.2 The composition of the NHS Board areas in terms of Council areas is summarised in the table below. Maps of Council areas - as at 1st April 2006 (439 Kb PDF file), NHS Board areas - as at 1st April 2006 (390 Kb PDF file) and NHS Board areas - prior to 1st April 2006 (381 Kb PDF file) can be found on this website.

Note: The maps listed above can be viewed in Adobe Acrobat Portable Document Format (PDF). 

PDF files require Acrobat Reader. Download Acrobat Reader free Get Acrobat Reader

5.3 Data in future publications will be presented for the new NHS Board areas, but data on the components and old NHS Board areas will be also made available to allow historical comparisons.

NHS Board area

Council area

Argyll & Clyde

Argyll & Bute, East Renfrewshire (part), Inverclyde, Renfrewshire, West Dunbartonshire (part), Stirling (part)

Greater Glasgow & Clyde part [Footnote 1]

East Renfrewshire (part), Inverclyde, Renfrewshire, West Dunbartonshire (part), Stirling (part)

Highland part [Footnote 1]

Argyll & Bute

Greater Glasgow & Clyde [Footnote 2]

East Dunbartonshire, East Renfrewshire, Glasgow City, Inverclyde, North Lanarkshire (part), Renfrewshire, South Lanarkshire (part), Stirling (part), West Dunbartonshire

Highland [Footnote 2]

Argyll & Bute, Highland

Ayrshire & Arran

East Ayrshire, North Ayrshire, South Ayrshire


Scottish Borders

Dumfries & Galloway

Dumfries & Galloway


Fife (part)

Forth Valley

Clackmannanshire, Falkirk (part), Stirling (part), Perth & Kinross (part)


Aberdeen City, Aberdeenshire, Moray

Greater Glasgow

East Dunbartonshire, East Renfrewshire (part), Glasgow City, North Lanarkshire (part), South Lanarkshire (part), West Dunbartonshire (part)




North Lanarkshire (part), South Lanarkshire (part), West Lothian (part), Falkirk (part)


East Lothian, City of Edinburgh, Midlothian, West Lothian (part), Falkirk (part)


Orkney Islands


Shetland Islands


Angus, Dundee City, Perth & Kinross (part), Fife (part)

Western Isles

Eilean Siar

Note: In practice there are some other very small 'slivers' where NHS Board and Council area boundaries cross.


1. Areas of former Argyll & Clyde inherited by new Boards on 1st April 2006.

2. New Board areas including parts of former Argyll & Clyde.

All statistical publications